Cleaning sticky figures

130719_3094

About a week ago, I tried out mikatan’s tutorial on how to clean sticky figures on my Suzumiya Haruhi nenpuchis set #1.  Somehow, only that set became really sticky to the point where I didn’t want to touch them.  Some even had a shiny look to them as a result.

I’m not sure why this happened only to the Suzumiya nenpuchis.  I’m pretty sure they were treated to the same conditions as my other figures that I bought around that time – Rin/Len nendos, Rin figma and bootleg L nendo.  But only the nenpuchis were affected.  Perhaps between the production of the Suzumiya nenpuchis and the Rin/Len nendos, they had changed the way they produced these PVC figures?

Anyway, I was really keen on trying out the suggested method of cleaning them.  I honestly didn’t care what happened to the nenpuchis since I felt no attachment to them.

I didn’t quite follow mikatan’s tutorial exactly but here’s what I did:

130719_3086

Soaking the nenpuchis

  • I placed the nenpuchis into a plastic bowl of water with some washing liquid added.  There were some bubbles but they died away after a while.
  • Then I left them overnight for about 12 hours or so.
  • Next morning, I emptied out the diluted solution and filled it with a new one.  I washed/rubbed the nenpuchis with my fingers in an attempt to get rid of any remaining stickiness.
  • MIkatan says not to use tissues but I went ahead and used a kitchen hand towel to pat them dry anyway.  It’d be preferable to use a cloth instead since there were some tissue fibres stuck on the nenpuchis but it didn’t bother me much.
  • There’s some nenpuchis that don’t feel so sticky – hey presto, it works!  I left them outside to dry with paper towel underneath to soak up excess water.
  • However, there’s still a couple that are slightly sticky.  I didn’t expect the sticky layer to disappear 100%.  I threw them into the diluted solution again and let them soak for a couple more hours.
  • After washing them with my fingers, they turn out to be not as sticky as before!  It’s only ever so slightly sticky which is a huge improvement compared to their original condition.
  • So out they go to dry along with the rest!
130719_3091

Nenpuchis chillin’ out…?

130719_3092

Body parts that fell off

130719_3093

Haruhi doesn’t seem so pleased

So yep, this method works!  However, it’s always best that the figures don’t become sticky in the first place.  I’m hoping that my figures are fine since I’ve left them in boxes (or their actual figure box).  I’ve moved overseas so I had to leave behind most of my figures.  I’m hoping the upcoming summer treats them okay!  I really don’t want to deal with sticky figures again, especially ones that I like.

One thought on “Cleaning sticky figures

Leave a Reply

