Anime: autumn 2013

So a couple of reasons why this entry is up later than I would’ve liked:

  1. I didn’t start going through the list until the new season had already begun;
  2. And then I decided to make this entry after I’ve tried out all the series I’ve got on my list.

As usual, I’m linking to Random Curiosity’s season preview.

And anime series on my list (in bold are the ones I’ve decided to continue for now):

  • Coppelion
    I think a friend mentioned she was looking forward to watching this a while ago when it was supposed to air but then got cancelled due to the recent earthquake/tsunami in Japan.  Either that or she just merely mentioned the fact that this show was meant to air but didn’t.  Either way, I tried it out because the setting and story sounded interesting.  It’s all been okay so far though why must the three girls wear school uniforms to accomplish their task of searching for survivors!?  @.@;
  • Kyoukai no Kanata
    It’s by KyoAni which is the main reason why it’s on my to-try list.  At the same time, it’s meant to be dark fantasy so… I suppose that’s something different?  So far it’s been so-so.  I’m not sure if I want to drop it or not so I’ll give it another chance and watch the 5th ep.  It’s only 12 episodes anyway (I think?)
  • Kill la Kill
    Apparently the production staff are quality people so I tried this out.  Not bad so far – pretty random though.  It reminds me of Panty and Stocking somehow and I’m expecting this series to have a lolwtf ending.
  • Log Horizon
    It sounds very much like Sword Art Online and I really liked that setting so I thought I’d give this one a try.  So far, it’s been pretty good though I’m wondering if they’ll ever touch upon what’s happening in reality?
  • Kuroko no Basuke S2
    OF COURSE I’D WATCH THIS.
  • Ace of Diamond
    I tried this mostly because it’s Madhouse x Production I.G, heh.  And then I saw that my twitter TL was enjoying it.  The first episode was so-so but then it picked up and I’m enjoying it as well!
  • Phi Brain S3
    SURE WHY NOT?  S2 was a lot better than S1 so I’m hoping S3 remains just as awesome.
  • Yozakura Quartet -Hana no Uta-
    A reboot…!?  I don’t remember much of the first anime series but I think I enjoyed it.  As I watched more of it, I remembered more about the first series and, yep, I’ll definitely continue to watch this.
  • Meganebu
    I had a low expectation for this series.  Yes I’m a megane-con but when I saw the character designs, it didn’t really set off my megane-con trigger?  After watching the first episode, I thought it’d be funnier but it fell short of my expectations (though they were already low to begin with).  If people say it picks up and gets better, then I’ll pick it up again?
  • Unbreakable Machine-doll
    Reading the synopsis sounded interesting!  But after watching the first two episodes, I decided to drop it because it felt so-so to me.  I didn’t quite like how Yaya is all over Raishin which was bordering upon loli-con vibes.  Just not my cup of tea.  Maybe the story might pick up later but I’m dropping this for now.
  • Galilei Donna
    It’s in the noitaminA slot, that’s why.  And it’s great so far!  I’m shipping Hazuki with that red haired pirate soooo hard. XD
  • Samurai Flamenco
    I’ve had my eye on this series for a while and it’s also in the noitaminA timeslot.  Feels great to hear Sugitan again (and he’s using his Gin-chan voice too)!
  • Valvrave S2
    SEASON TWO ERU ERUFUUUUU
  • Yowamushi Pedal
    I wasn’t going to pick up this one at all but I’m glad I did!  Once again, my twitter TL showed a lot of interest in this so I decided to try it and oh yesssss, it’s been great so far!

I was hoping to cut down the number of new anime series to around 10-11 as I no longer have as much time as I used to.  So… from 14 down to 12 isn’t too bad!  Normally I would’ve tried a lot more series than the above and kept most of it but I really can’t afford it which meant being harsher with my judgement.  I’m still undecided about Kyoukai no Kanata but we’ll just keep it for now. I guess.

…I still have a couple of series from last season to catch up with, oops.

Leave a Reply

