Piece of Peace – Lego Exhibition

130722_3242

I love Lego (especially Star Wars lego) so when I heard about the Piece of Peace exhibition, I just had to go visit!  Piece of Peace was held last year in July and only recently did I finish processing these photos.  Oops.  Anyway, the exhibition was full of lego models of world heritage sites and all of them were absolutely amazing!  I have a penchant for miniature models so Piece of Peace was a complete joy to look at (as well as to photograph).  The exhibition itself had toured around in Japan since 2003 with the aim of promoting UNESCO’s world heritage activities and Hong Kong was its first overseas exhibition.  However, I’m not sure if it has gone anywhere else yet since its world tour page still says ‘Hong Kong’.

There was also another area on the lower floor which displayed lego models of other iconic sites such as San Francisco’s Golden Gate Bridge, New York’s Empire State Building and Paris’ Gare du Nord, just to name a few.  They also modeled some trains in the Gare du Nord model and part of the English Channel with boats on top.  If you looked closer at the train platforms, you would find Darth Vader and his storm troopers waiting at the platform as well!  And for the Empire State Building, there was Iron Man and, I think, King Kong as well.  Too bad that these exhibits were in low lighting areas so my photos didn’t turn out that great.

IMG_20130722_105723

My photos of the exhibition can be seen either at my photoblog or flickr.  I’d rather not repost photos here since I feel it’s nicer to see them on a darker background.

Leave a Reply

