GSC Halloween Festival @HK

141025_F0111

Late post is late as usual.  It’s January 2015 and Fishy is blogging about a Halloween event from last year…!?  Oh well… Anyway, GSC organised some kind of two-day Halloween event in Hong Kong last year.  I say ‘some kind of Halloween event’ because there were only two things that made it remotely ‘Halloween’ – the date of the event and Halloween Hatsune Miku nendoroid.  I didn’t even know this event existed until a friend linked me to GSC’s website.  I figured that I may as well go check it out but then it turned out to be mostly a buying event with some figure displays.  There was a mini stage but the stage event probably didn’t last long since I didn’t catch any of it at all. On top of that, there was also a small section where you could create custom nendoroid faces but I suspected that was over and done with pretty quickly too since tables were empty by the time I got there around 2 to 3 pm.

So what were the figures being sold at this event?

gsc halloween hk 1

gsc halloween hk 2

Yep, that was what could be bought.  There was a decent amount of exclusives selling at decent prices compared to those at Mongkok.  I was surprised to see a couple of older Hatsune Miku nendoroid exclusives still being sold!  And all the guys around me in the queue bought at least one Halloween Hatsune Miku but as for me…  I had my eye on Armin figma since I kinda wanted a Shingeki no Kyojin figma and I quite like Armin too.  On top of that, he has some pretty epic facial expressions, heh.

By the time I reached the place, the queue for buying exclusives was pretty long.  Unfortunately, it moved at a rather slow pace.  I’m not sure how long it took for me to finally buy that Armin figma… but it was definitely less than 3 hours of waiting.  However, if you wanted to buy non-exclusives, you could just walk straight up to the tables and make your purchases.

After making my purchase, I took quick snapshots of the figures on display.  This was the other reason for checking out the (rather small) GSC event – to test out my new camera, Fujifilm X-M1, with my new lens, 35mm f/1.4.  Autofocus was rather slow, which I knew beforehand, so I had to use manual focus most of the time.  The manual focus wasn’t too bad and I really like how you can use the aperture ring on the lens!

Hm, I digress… I shall now spam photo after photo!  I went a bit overboard with colours when I processed the photos… heh.

141025_F0118

141025_F0119

141025_F0128

141025_F0134

141025_F0137

141025_F0140

141025_F0145

141025_F0146

141025_F0149

141025_F0151

141025_F0153

141025_F0158

141025_F0167

141025_F0173

Haha, I love this Colossal Titan nendoroid cardboard cut-out.

There weren’t too many figures on display – it was mostly one large display table with a few other smaller display boxes.  As an event, it didn’t quite live up to my expectations.  I had hoped there’d be more but the main focus was really just a means for GSC to sell off their exclusives.  Or at least it felt that way to me.  It was nice to have some figures on display but they felt like an afterthought, something to beef up the stall area and make it seem like more of an event.  I won’t comment on the stage event or the custom nendoroid face workshop since I didn’t see any of that in action.

It may sound like it  was somewhat pointless to go to this event and queue for a couple of hours or so just to buy one figure but hey, I’m not regretting it because figma Armin is faaabulous!  I love the little details on his 3DMG and… yessss, he’s just fabulous!  Furthermore, I bought him at a decent price since usually exclusive figures are sold at a jacked up price in HK.

So onwards with round 2 of photo spam!  I hadn’t bought a figma for a while nor had I taken photos with one so I sucked at posing him… These are quick snapshots with my Fuji X-M1 once again.

141026_F0207

141026_F0210

141026_F0211

141026_F0215

Aw yiss alpaca steed!

141026_F0220

“Jean!”

141026_F0221

“What happened to your horse face?”

141026_F0223

“Jean… your face….!!”

…yeah, I don’t know what I was doing for the last couple of photos.  Please don’t ask.  =’D

One thought on “GSC Halloween Festival @HK

Leave a Reply

